The Wolf of Wall Street (Review)

I just finished watching The Wolf of Wall Street -well, not “just” because there was something of an adventure with the car key. But I had a pretty good time watching the movie, being both an equities trader and something of a movie buff.

Don’t worry, I’m not going to be pedantic and start criticizing how accurately inaccurate it was. That’s boring.  What was very interesting, at least for me, is how Scorsese was able to get past the boring financial part and focus on the dark comedy of the story, which was interesting for the audience. I thought it was a fantastic trick, that worked really well to tell the story.

Though I might have been a bit biased because Margot Robbie.

Though I might have been a bit biased because Margot Robbie.

Normally I’m worried when finance is a major part of any story in the hands of movie makers, mostly because economics is not inherently interesting and directors/screenwriters feel the need to be creative about the finance part in order make it interesting (I’m looking at you, Wall Street). Scorsese, as you might expect of a great storyteller, was able to escape that pitfall, by having the main character just… not talk about finance.

I was genuinely curious about how Jordan Belfort pulled off his scams, but none of them are actually explained in the movie. Which is fantastic; because the story here is not about Wall Street (in fact, that’s part of Belfort’s scam; he wasn’t on Wall Street). The story was about the characters, and their adventures.

That’s an interesting story. Hopefully screenwriters will take note.

And as a Slovenian resident I'm legally obliged to point out that Katarina Čas is also in the movie.

And as a Slovenian resident I’m legally obliged to point out that Katarina Čas is also in the movie.

Leave a Reply

